My Novel Duff Is Coming Soon!

I have written a novel, ‘Duff’. An early draft of ‘Duff’ was shortlisted for the Dundee International Book Prize 2014. It was called ‘The Dreaming’ then, and only a handful of scenes remain, having undergone an almost complete rewrite. Duff is due in October, and it will be available as a paperback and as an ebook. The Kindle version will be available at the end of September.

I say Duff is ‘due’ in October, because in many ways it’s my firstborn baby (I’m hoping there will be subsequent babies, I have two more novels in reserve).

I’m hugely excited about my debut novel, not least because writing it gave my life purpose after the terror of treatment for ovarian cancer, and the blow to my ego when I discovered I would never be able to have my own biological child.

Many writers fall into writing, rather than being born writers. As a child I was always writing poetry. As well as being a voracious reader, I was curious about my creativity, but it took a terrible trauma for me to become serious about what I wanted to achieve in my life. I am 41 now. It’s around this age you realise time is running out, you’ve reached the top of the hill, and the only way is down. Focus. In some ways getting in tune with your childhood ambitions is the only way down that long, old slope.

Duff will be published by Patrician Press. More information here.

Leave a Reply

